Announcing the 2023 Interactive Science Educator Award Winners!

Written by SI • November 7, 2023 •  2 min read

Table of contents

Announcing the 2023 Interactive Science Educator Award Winners! Featured Image

Sound the horns and ready those mantles because the Interactive Science Educators of 2023 have been selected! We’re thrilled to announce this year’s honorees for our inaugural Interactive Science Educator Awards. 

Every day, educators across the country teach science online in order to provide their students with the opportunity to gain scientific literacy and pursue studies or potential career paths in the field of science. This program is an annual opportunity for educators to be recognized and celebrated for their exceptional contributions to the field of online science education. We opened nominations earlier this summer and were truly blown away by the quality of submissions. So without further adieu, your 2023 Interactive Science Educator of the year — and proud new recipients of the prestigious Golden Goggles prize — are:

📯Dr. Lori Wilson from the University of North Georgia (Chemistry) represents the category of Unique Methods of Student Engagement. As a winner in this category, Dr. Wilson is creating memorable and impactful experiences for her students. With weekly office hours, interactive multimedia, and her transformed approach to grading, students have a stronger sense of ownership over their own learning.

📯Dr. Effat Zeidan Hatoum from the California Baptist University (Anatomy & Physiology, Biology) represents the category of Leveraging Hybrid Learning and Teaching Strategies. As the winner in this category, Dr. Zeidan Hatoum is successfully increasing access to science education by combining hands-on experiences with virtual content in creative ways that support student success. Her focus on personalized feedback, motivational messaging, and mid-course progress reports helps take the fear out of learning STEM online for students and underscores her commitment to student success. 

📯Ms. Latoya Hill from Barton Community College (Pharmacy) represents the category of Innovative Use of Technology. As the winner in this category, Ms. Hill is maximizing the use — and pushing the limits — of technology to impact student success. She creates a seamless experience, integrating virtual lab simulations with the LMS in order to prepare her pharmacy students for real world applications and reinforce what they are learning through hands-on experiences. Her ability to bridge the gap for online students, by providing personalized feedback using accessible technology, is unmatched. 

📯Dr. Charuta Mirajkar from Brightpoint Community College (Biology) represents the category of Promoting Accessibility.  As the winner in this category, Dr. Mirajkar is using technology and tools to foster a supportive and accessible learning experience for all. Her commitment to expanding the reach of science education to students of different ages, socio-economic backgrounds, and learning preferences, provides students the same opportunities as on-campus students. Her use of custom hands-on lab kits, particularly with her virtual BIO 101 course, ensures the same quality and rigor as on-campus labs while maintaining affordability.

This year’s honorees will each receive:

  • A $500 donation of lab materials or hands-on kits to their course or department.
  • A $500 travel stipend to attend a conference.
  • New opportunities to participate in virtual and in-person panel discussions focused on advancing best practices in online science education.
  • A custom “Golden Goggles” Award trophy to proudly display at home, in the office, or in your lab!

“In a world where education is evolving rapidly, the Interactive Science Educator Award aims to highlight the educators who teach science online in ways that embrace technology, creativity, and accessibility in order to transform the way students engage with science. This year’s award recipients exemplify this and go above and beyond in their work to empower students with scientific literacy, inspire curiosity, and spark innovation. We’re proud to partner with them and honored to support the work they do to impact student success and advance the field of online science education,” said CEO of Science Interactive, Sasha Peterson.

The Interactive Science Educator Award is an annual awards program, and nominations for the 2024 program will open in July. Honorees are announced every fall. To learn more, visit